Bo

It’s been about 5 years since I tried this. Let’s start over.

Hi, my name is Lys. I’m just over my quarter-life hump, and sailing through the crisis that accompanies that. To cope, I’m finally pursuing my dream to work with animals. In The Southern Part of Nowhere, Utah. The great thing about it is that I’m not alone. I have found my people, and the animals that I’ve always wanted to surround myself with. This will be a short journal to keep track of my journey, and hopefully to my lifelong career. I’ll get to some background later, if at all, so here’s the present:

BFAS - Bo

Day 2 of my internship at Best Friends’ Animal Society – Casa De Calmar‬ / Cat World: I made friends with Bo the handsome tomcat‬. This guy has such a great face, like he could tell the best stories. He’s a big boy with a gentle heart, and he softly pads behind me, waiting for me to sit so he can get a lap to curl up on. Though he’s intimidating in size, he is friendly with all the other cats – even grooming them when they allow – and moves calmly regardless of what’s going on around him. He’s FeLV‬+ and absolutely loving life (though a forever home would be even better!). Casa De Calmar houses about 50 cats that have tested positive for FeLV, or Feline Leukemia Virus. FeLV can cause anemia and lymphoma among other serious illnesses. The virus can also suppress the cats’ immune system, affecting their ability to fight off bacteria, viruses, and fungi which contribute to other serious health problems. The average lifespan of a cat with FeLV is around 4 years, though they can live longer depending on when they became infected. It is transferrable through saliva (sharing food/water bowls, bites and scratches), shared litter boxes, and from mother to kittens in utero/during feeding. There is no cure for this disease, so quality of life is very important.

Bo’s adoption profile: http://goo.gl/5EktWp

Leave a Reply

